20
Mar
09

Former Dorm mate is now a top Street Fighter IV player! It’s Okay to be Proud Right?!?

Hey boys and girls. I was looking into some old acquaintances recently, and low and behold I see that one of the guys that used to kick my ass in 3rd strike is now a top in Street Fighter 4! For those of you who keep tabs on whos who of Street Fighter 4 elite player, you may be familiar with Ryan “Gootecks” Gutierrez. I used to stay in the same dorm as that guy! Well for proof here’s a picture of all of us:

 

There's Ryan on the left, then there's Jermzlar there, then me, and the guy on the right is Mike or IronchefMik if any of you guys know him online.

There's Ryan "Gootecks" on the left, then there's Jermzlar there, then me, and the guy on the right is Mike or IronchefMik if any of you guys know him online.

It’s been a few years since this picture’s been taken so there’s some definate image changes for some of us. In any case I  was looking at this video on the Gamestop Street Fighter IV tournament which you can view here:

Street Fighter IV Tournament

Man, I knew he did well at EVO tournaments during the 3rd Strike years, but wow! I spent quite a bit of my freshman life getting my ass handed to me, getting a meager victory of 1 out of 20 tries. Chef (who is the one on the right in the picture) spent hours training to beat him, and got pretty good himself in the process, but never got as far as Ryan has. I personally in addition to not being one of the chosen few, just have too many peculiar behaviors to not make it big in Street Fighter it seems. During 3rd Strike, I just couldn’t do the whole parry thing, it went against my reflexive nature. At the time of impact I always press back to block, I suppose some would call it flinching, I agree with those people. With Street Fighter 4, let’s go with “making bad decisions” still don’t know what character I’m really good with. Started using Ken, and I got my first online victory after 5 losses with Gen. Well there’s one thing I do know though; While I may not have a lot of skill in Street Fighter, from what I’m aware of it seems I do have an acquintance with a Street Fighter IV cabinet in his home! And it’s high time I start paying visits to old friends and reconnect with old bonds!!!! Right!?!?! I mean should i be offered to play with his Street Fighter IV cabinet…. well it’d be plain rude to turn that down now wouldn’t it?

4 Responses to “Former Dorm mate is now a top Street Fighter IV player! It’s Okay to be Proud Right?!?”


  1. 1 IronChefMIk
    April 17, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    What up man, its chef. Catch you at AX.

  2. 2 mangamaxx
    April 18, 2009 at 1:05 am

    Hey Chef, been a while. Out of curiosity how’d you find this blog? I ironically have gotten quite a bit of hits from people that found it from looking up your nick on google.

  3. 3 IronChefMIk
    April 18, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    LOL… I googled “IronChefMIk” to look at by battlefield stats and this came up

  4. 4 IronChefMIk
    April 5, 2017 at 8:55 pm

    8 years later 🙂


Leave a Reply

Current Poll

State of Happiness RSS Feed


