03
Apr
09

Thirsty? Have a Melon Cream Soda with Luffy and the Crew!!!

Melon Cream Soda, the "beer" of anime pirates!!! (Would've thought Root Beer, but what do I know...)

Melon Cream Soda, the "beer" of anime pirates!!! (Would've thought Root Beer, but what do I know...)

 

Got a little thirsty today so I went to my local Japanese market Nijiya, and what did I see but a Melon Cream Soda with Luffy and the gang!!! Delicious? You bet!!!! I checked up on it, and apparently Sapporo (the manufacturer of the drink) is doing a  promotion with One Piece; well obviously, but what does this entail besides cool pictures on drink bottles? Well, you see that little box on the lower right of the bottle that looks like static? Well in Japan you can use your cellphone to decode that little image and you apparently send that decoded image through e-mail and enter for a chance to win…….we’ll I’m stuck at that part since my Japanese is only at such a level, but I think we can all imagine what happens. Anyways, check out the site to see the rest of the bottle designs!!!!

 

On a side note, I didn’t notice this last week, but I’ve been getting the feeling that new character Emporio Ivankov seems to bear a remarkable resemblance to Tim Curry in his role as Dr. Frank N. Furter in the Rocky Horror Picture Show? Let’s look at the similarities:

 

Emporio Ivankov, that a good note of that face

Emporio Ivankov, that a good note of that face

 

Now don't their faces/appearences look a little similar?

Now don't their faces/appearences look a little similar?

 

Could very well be that Eiichiro Oda based Emporio on Frank N. Furter; I mean, it’s hard to deny the similarity between the two and if you look at a close up of Tim Curry’s face there are moments where his face looks like Emporio’s. Well I’m glad I got that off my chest, it was bothering me for a while where I saw Emporio’s face before and now I remember. If anyone agrees or disagrees with this observation, let me know I curious on other peoples theories regarding this.

3 Responses to “Thirsty? Have a Melon Cream Soda with Luffy and the Crew!!!”


  1. 1 Ash
    September 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    100% True XD

  2. January 2, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Great information! I can’t wait for your next article 🙂

  3. September 18, 2013 at 1:53 am

    Hello, just wanted to mention, I liked this article. It wass funny.
    Keep on posting!


Leave a Reply

Current Poll

State of Happiness RSS Feed


